Firm in Our Faith

Firm in our Faith

By Steve Crowley

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2 (ESV)

Pilars of faith, those whom we have read about and those whom we have encountered give us hope that we too may stand strong in the mist of temptation and the allure of this world. I don’t know about you but there are days when the weakness of my fleshly desires rise up and I momentarily loose my focus, my primary commitment to my faith. I’m human and like all of us we can be lead astray by the things of this world.

“But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do.” Galatians 5:16-17 (ESV)

The sad reality of succumbing to the desires of the flesh is buyers remorse. In my late thirties I wanted a boat. Growing up my family always had a boat so I too desired to have a boat. So I bought a brand new shiny one and was excited to take the family out on the lake. My children screamed, cried and begged to get out of the boat because the waves frightened them. Needless to say I sold the boat and realized fulfilling desires don’t always satisfy.

“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.” Colossians 3:2 (ESV)

There will always be something tugging upon our desires but when we set our sights on Jesus and come to understand in Jesus we have all we need.

Gracious Father, forgive us of our sins of desire and give us a clean heart, when You and only You become the desires of our hearts. Father, this world is full of temptations that seek to allure us away from You. Therefore we pray as Jesus prayed, that We are protected from the evil one that we may be one as You and Jesus are one.

Father, we pray You would use our weakness in this world to strengthen us so Your glory shines. For it is in the name of Jesus that we pray.

Amen

Leave a comment