Hope In Times of Turmoil

Hope in Times of Turmoil 

By Steve Crowley 

“He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” Colossians 1:13-14 (ESV)

Stress, hardships, fear and our mistakes can become a heavy burden. In fact these things can strip us of our joy if we become consumed by them. Right now I personally confess my heart has become heavy by the forces of evil which have permeated our country. The divisiveness, the political strife and the cultural decline have caused a cloud of uncertainty to descend upon our nation and our lives. 

So how do we find peace with joy in these troubling days?

“But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” Lamentations 3:21-24 (ESV)

“Therefore I will hope in Him.”

Turn off the television and turn to the Word of God. In reading the Bible I find my countenance brightens, my soul rejoices and my spirit soars. Nothing we are experiencing is any different than what those before us experienced. In fact when we read the Bible, whether the Old Testament or New, we find not only persecution but also divisiveness, political strife and cultural decline. But just as those before us, when darkness descended they turned to God to find hope, so should we?

“I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:8-11 (ESV)

Gracious Father, as those before us poured out their hearts before You, we too humbly come to You with heavy hearts caused by the turmoil surrounding us. Lord God, we cast our burdens upon You knowing Your will sustains us.

Father, we pray the prayer of saints asking you to forgive us of our sins and heal our land. Father, there is so much divisiveness, political strife and cultural decline in our nation. Lord God, we look to You to open the eyes of our nation that Your glory brings light into darkness that people would turn to You. Father, return our nation as the city on a hill, bringing light that gives You glory for all to see

Lord, You are our rock, our firm foundation in whom we have hope in our salvation. To You be the glory today and forevermore. For it is in the name above all names, Christ Jesus, our Lord and Savior that we pray.

Amen

 

Leave a comment