Finding Joy in a Dark World

Finding Joy in a Dark World

By Steve Crowley 

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11 (ESV)

Finding joy these days has become as difficult as buying the winning lottery ticket. It’s out there but our chances or odds of selecting it is millions to one. When we combine the stress factors of living in what we are being told is the new normal, finding joy in daily living has become tough. Believe me, I’d love to go to my favorite restaurant and enjoy a delicious meal without looking around fearing this or that table of patrons are too close. In addition with the daily bombardment of riots, looting and civil disobedience personally I  can no longer watch the news. Joy, it seems like are few and far between these days.

“…Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 (NLT)

“For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.” Romans 14:17 (NLT)

Rather than allowing the negative static of life which surrounds us and robs us of our joy, look to Jesus and allow the incredible blessing of His grace to brighten your day. 

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, will bear much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.”

John 15:5, 11 (ESV)

The joy of Jesus Christ is available to us each and everyday. All we have to do is to seek Him and spend time reading our Bibles and the fullness of joy will fill us with pleasures today and forevermore!

O gracious and loving Father, You know the tribulations of this world and the darkness they bring upon Your people. Father, just as Moses Your servant prayed, deliver us from darkness and may Your glory fill us with everlasting joy.

Father, may our hearts seek You and may we rest in Your presence finding joy in the grace of Jesus Christ. Father, we pray this prayer in the name above all names, Jesus Christ “the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:2 (ESV)

Amen

Leave a comment