Crossroads – Are You Facing One?

Reflections – Crossroads

By Steve Crowley

 

They were now on the way up to Jerusalem, and Jesus was walking ahead of them. The disciples were filled with awe, and the people following behind were overwhelmed with fear. Mark 10:32 (NLT)

Uncertainty, doubt and the great unknown, are the fearful three. We hate to encounter these fears, but we all have faced or will face them at some point in our lives. Do you feel you are standing at a crossroad in your life where you have to make a decision? You cannot stand still, yet the decision of which way to turn seems to be clouded or unclear? We have all faced circumstances or decisions at some point in our lives, where we’ve reached a dead-end or need to make a decision, but we really don’t have all the answers. So, what do we do?

In 2004, after thirty years in a career within the Financial Services industry, I reached that proverbial crossroad. I had thrived in this industry for years, but in 2004 this industry was still reeling from a combination of turmoil from the terrorist attack on 9/11 and years of consolidation within the industry. To be perfectly transparent, my crossroad was a journey in the making. Events in my life began to occur, distancing me from a career in corporate America, what I thought was my life calling. For reasons unbeknownst to me, God had different plans for me.

“My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord, nor be weary when reproved by him. For the Lord disciplines the ones he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.” Hebrews 12:5-6 (ESV)

While I certainly didn’t understand why I was now standing at the crossroad of uncertainty, after years of a successful career, I finally realized God was trying to get my attention. You see, I’m a bit hardheaded and relied on myself, and not God, to meet my needs.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved.” Ephesians 2:4-5 (ESV)

It took God empting me of myself, and placing me at the crossroad of helplessness and despair for me to look up. With no direction in life whatsoever, God inspired me to look up and realize that it wasn’t me who was in charge, but to rely on Him – God. Once I was broken of self-reliance, I asked Christ into my heart and surrendered to His will knowing I could no longer rely on mine. I learned obedience through the affliction of uncertainty and despair, and by His grace, I opened my heart and submitted to His will.

“And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.” Isaiah 6:8 (ESV)

If you are standing at your crossroad and the fear of uncertainty grips you, stop and listen for that small whisper of the Holy Spirit calling you, then respond. God isn’t so much interested in our comfort as he is in our character. For God’s will is our sanctification, being transformed into the likeness of His Son, Jesus Christ.

“We can never have the peace of God until we are at peace with God.” – Dr. Ike Reighard

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT)

Our God is a faithful God who loves us beyond our capability to comprehend. Just pause long enough to think about the fact God created you (Psalm 139:13-14). He choose you and adopted you as one of His own, a child of God (John 15:16, Romans 8:16-17). God knows you so well that He even numbered the hairs on your head and He knows everyone of your days before one ever occurs, (Matthew 10:30, Psalm 139:16).

So the next time you stand at the crossroads of life, look up and say, “Here I am! Send me.” “Not my will but Your will be done Lord.”

Crossroads are times for decisions, but decisions without the counsel of our Creator only lead to detours.

 

O faithful and loving Father, our words are so inadequate to express our thanks to You. You loved us so much that before the foundation of the world, You decided to send Your one and only Son, Jesus Christ, to earth to do what we are incapable of doing. He died upon the cross without blemish or sin so that we could be righteous in Your sight. Thank you!  

Father, we humbly fall before Your almighty throne of grace, asking You for more grace as we look to You. Lord, may our crossroads be Your flashing light calling us to surrender to Your will.

For it is in the name of Jesus Christ and through the power of the Holy Spirit that we pray.

“Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:12-13 (ESV)

Amen

Leave a comment