Daily Bread

Daily Bread
By Steve Crowley

”Give us this day our daily bread,“ ‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6‬:‭11‬ ‭(ESV)

Bread, is the sustenance of life. Bread represents the new covenant as expressed by Jesus at the Last Supper.

”Now as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and after blessing it broke it and gave it to the disciples, and said, “Take, eat; this is my body.”“
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭26‬:‭26‬ ‭(ESV)

So in essence, when we pray the Lord’s Prayer we are asking God for Jesus to be in our lives. I will never forget the day I asked Jesus to come into my life and be my Lord and Savior. I was in church and as the pastor was preaching it was as if he were speaking directly to me. I began to think I was the only person in the church and I was listening to a personalized message specific to me. I was overwhelmed with a feeling God Himself was calling to me. When the pastor closed his message, he issued a call to accept Jesus and lead us in prayer. As tears rolled down my face I opened my heart and asked Jesus to save me and be my Lord and Savior. For me it was like a rebirth.

”Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.“ ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭5‬:‭17‬ ‭(ESV‬)

As a new Christian I had a lot of catching up to do, so I began to study God’s Word by reading my Bible as well as books on the Bible. A new world was being opened to me as I learned to walk with Jesus. I can honestly say my life has never been the same and I thank God for His amazing grace.

”He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.“ ‭‭Colossians‬ ‭1‬:‭13‬-‭14‬ ‭(ESV)

If you’re struggling with finding your purpose in life ask yourself, is this all there is? Pause for a moment and open your heart and ask Jesus to come into your life and be your Lord and Savior.

Dear God, I humbly come before you admitting how I’ve messed up. I need You to cleanse me and restore me. I ask for Jesus who knew no sin but took on my sin to be my Lord and Savior. Come into my life Lord, help me be the person You created me to be. For it is through the blood of Jesus that was shed upon the cross that I pray.

If you prayed this prayer open your Bible and hear in your heart God’s love for you. The day I asked Jesus into my heart changed my life and I assure you it will change yours.

”This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.“ Joshua‬ ‭1‬:‭8‬ ‭(ESV)

O gracious and merciful Father, we are truly humbled by the love You have for us that You sent Your Son, who knew no sin yet took on our sins so that we can be reconciled with You. By His wounds and the shedding of His blood we are healed. Words cannot be expressed for the sacrifice You made to show us Your eternal love.

Father, we pray for the renewing of our minds as we grow in faith by studying Your Word. May Your Word be the lamp to our feet and the light to our path. Lord, open our ears and our heart that Your Word would speak to us each and everyday.

We pray in the name of Jesus, our Lord and Savior.

Amen

Leave a comment