Stress – In Search of Simpler Times?

Stress

By Steve Crowley

 

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 (ESV)

I don’t know about you, but lately, I am feeling stressed beyond my normal stress. I yearn for the simpler days, days like the Andy Griffith Show, Leave it to Beaver or Father Knows Best: days of simple joys, seeing a beautiful sunrise or sunset and basking in wonder of the artistry of Almighty God, days of wonder when seeing the miracles of life and seeing nature in all its glory, days of peace in witnessing mankind’s compassion to man. Oh how I yearn to escape into the innocence of children whose joy is in discovery of all that is before them. What has happen to us all?

We have embraced technology and the convenience of knowledge at the stroke of an app yet all that we have has stripped us of contentment in knowing there is more. The pace of information as well as the enormous selection of daily options has eclipsed our capacity to process resulting in an overload to our senses. Stress has become the mainstay within our lives causing infractions in relationships, in productivity and in our wellbeing. Balance in life has become unbalanced as we attempt to process everything being presented to us.

For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life—is not from the Father but is from the world. 1 John 2:16 (ESV)

“All that is in the world – is not from the Father but is from the world.”

We have created our own mess by looking to the world, which creates stress when we should seek God who created the world.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 (ESV)

Gracious and merciful Father, creator of the heavens and the earth, by Your hand You cast the heavens into being and by Your breath You gave life. Blessed be Your name!

Father, stress in our lives is contrary to Your Word. Lord, may we place our unbinding trust in You knowing that in You we have life. For in You O Lord is peace and rest for our souls. Lord, we yearn for simpler times yet the world is what it is. May we set our sights on You and You alone knowing that Your burden is light and You give rest to our weary souls.

Father, may Your Word be our source of strength as we seek You above all else. May Your sovereign will be done here on earth as it is in heaven. For it is in the name of Jesus who is the way, the truth and the life that we pray.

Amen

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment