Open Our Eyes and Ears

Open Our Eyes and Ears
By Steve Crowley

”“Thus says the Lord who made the earth, the Lord who formed it to establish it—the Lord is his name: Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.“ Jeremiah‬ ‭33‬:‭2‬-‭3‬ ‭(ESV)

When God, the creator of the universe tells us to pray so He can in turn tell us hidden things, don’t we think we should do what He says? For far too long I kind of thought my prayers were a one way street, I prayed to God but I wasn’t expecting an answer. This was probably due to thinking God would speak in an audible way. What I’ve learned is God speaks to me through His Word, through others and through circumstances. Here lately, God has been speaking through His Word. Time after time a the Holy Spirit will place a verse on my mind only to find that specific verse is applicable to a situation either I am or someone close to me is currently facing.

”For the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.”“
‭‭Luke‬ ‭12‬:‭12‬ ‭(ESV)

The Holy Spirit is in us teaching us and guiding us to accomplish God’s will. Our responsibility is to be obedient to His nudging. For God is equipping us to fulfill His will.

So the next time you hear that inner voice telling you something listen. If you see a Bible verse multiple times think about what it is God is telling you. There are incredible blessing awaiting when we become attuned and obedient to God’s nudging.

O Father, creator of all, blessed be Your Holy name. Lord God, we thank You for giving us Your Word so we can hear You speak to us. May we be attentive to Your calling and may our eyes see and our ears hear.

Father, open the eyes of our hearts so we can follow Your direction by the reading of Your Word. For Your Word is a lamp to our feet and the light to our path. May we become obedient to the Holy Spirit.

For it is in the name of Jesus that we pray.

Amen

Leave a comment